The Power of Words

I hope that at five months out, people will receive what I have to say better than they would have when I really wanted to write it. I realized, then, that people might view my words as in-the-moment grief, anger, or insanity, so I decided to wait until there was a little more time between me and November to write this post. After a recent conversation on a stillbirth forum, I realized that I am not the only person who needs to write this blog. I write this for me and for the people I am connected to through our common grief…

I think that our world, as a whole, does not understand the power of the spoken word. We speak empty words so often that they come effortlessly when tragedy strikes.

“Hi, how are you?”

“I’m fine, how are you?”

“Good”

End of conversation

Are you really “fine?” Are you really “good?” Did you ask that question out of genuine concern? Did you expect a genuine answer? How would you respond if you got one?

Wait. I know. I’ve seen you shift uncomfortably and look for an escape when I stray from the script and say I’m still struggling or that it’s been a rough week. That hurts, but what hurts even worse are the words that you normally say next. Maybe you’ve thought a little more about these words, but still not enough to realize how damaging they are. It may take you five or ten seconds to say them, but they stay with me much longer than that. The same is true for sympathy cards. Maybe you agonize for longer over what to write, but still the amount of time it took you to think and write them does not compare to the amount of time they will stay with me. At five months out, I still know who said and who wrote what words—not because I keep a list of them so I can stay angry, but because I can’t un-hear or un-see them. And because, now more than ever, words mean something to me.

“Well, it was meant to be.”

“He’s in a better place.”

“At least he’ll never have to suffer. “

“It’s a part of God’s plan and you’ll just have to learn to accept it.”

“Everything happens for a reason.”

“God just needed another angel.”

“Maybe there would have been something wrong with him.”

“Maybe he’s being spared from something else.”

“You can have other babies. Your sister did.”

“God doesn’t give us more than we can handle.”

“You’re being tested.”

“Cheer up! It’ll be okay.”

Please believe me when I tell you that even spoken gently and kindly, those words hurt. Even if you truly believe those words, stop for a moment and think about the possibility that maybe I don’t believe those words. Maybe I don’t believe that God’s plan involves death. Maybe I feel that I’ve been given more than I can handle. Maybe this loss has been so hard that I don’t even want to think about having other babies. Even the two phrases above that I believe are true are not helpful in my time of grief. I know my son will never suffer and I know he’s with Jesus, but those things do not ease my pain here and now.

The main reason the phrases above are so hurtful is that it feels like you’re trying to say “It’s really not so bad.” But it is bad. It’s awful.  It’s unthinkable. It’s the most painful thing that’s ever happened to me. In the early stages of grief, I remember saying to my mother, “I’m tired of people trying to cheer me up. I don’t need a cheerleader right now. I need someone to crawl down into the cave I’m in just to be with me.”

Don’t get me wrong, I know you mean well. Most of the time, I keep my mouth shut and don’t tell people that what they’ve said has hurt me because I’d rather get my feelings hurt than hurt someone else. I’m realizing now, though, that if I don’t say something, the well-meaning words will be spoken to another grieving person somewhere down the road. That realization has helped me to find my voice (or fingers) and write this blog.

So think twice. Think three times before you say or write something to someone who is grieving, no matter what the loss. Blake and I have often joked about the blank space in cards and how people always feel like they need to fill it. If you’re one of those people that like to fill blank space, here are a few ideas:

“I’m thinking about you.”

“I can’t imagine what you must be going through.”

“This is so sad/awful/terrible.”

“I’m praying for you.”

“I’m sorry.”

These phrases are also good to use as conversational substitutes to the earlier mentioned phrases.

In cards, though, when all else fails, just sign your name really big. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Power of Words

  1. Ann C says:

    Well said! I love you and I know this is hard. I will crawl down into a cave with you and just be with you any day. My heart breaks with yours and I am praying for you and Blake daily. HUGS!

  2. Emily W says:

    Dearest Bekah,

    My heart bleeds as I read this. I am getting angry for you: Where is people’s empathy? The ability to TRY and put oneself in another person’s shoes? I think I would have thumped someone (or quite a few people…) if I were you.

    I think you are doing such a beautiful and brave thing here Bekah, letting people know this with such love and gentleness. I wish I could be in Arica right now. Lots of love and prayers, Emily xxxx

    I think you are doing a beautiful and very brave thing here Bekah, letting people know in such a loving and gentle way that

  3. Eleanor Grant says:

    Bekah, thank you so much for your words of wisdom to us who have been in this situation, both recveiving or offering.. I never know how to express my feelings for you who are going through differing griefs, you are offering a great gift of enlightenment Might I suggest that you take this further and share it with grief groups, such as the one you are involved with. Perhaps send a copy to the CBF for publishing in their literature. Loss is a very difficult thing to experience, and responding or interacting with those who are going through loss and/or changes is never easy or pretty. Thanksgiving for you, helping us understand and respond as God would have us do in His loving and knoweledgable way. I hope to share this with those I encounter through my daily life and witness. What a wonderful Blessing you are and I pray God’s blessings on you and Blake as you continue in His way. Much Love and many prayers. Allways Nannie in Mars Hill.

  4. Mary Ann Cauthen says:

    You are such a brave person & certainly your words will help others think before they speak or write. You are in my thoughts & prayers, & if I could reach you I would give you a big motherly hug!! Thanks for sharing your life with us. Mary Ann

  5. mamasmurph says:

    Thanks for sharing. Love you and Blake lots.

  6. You wrote how I feel as well, I just recently lost my daughter, stillborn, and I have not received any support from most of my family and it is so hard when just a simple ‘hello’ would suffice. xoxo

    • Bekah Ludlow Hart says:

      Tricia, I am so sorry for your loss. After I posted this, I realized that I should have included ignoring our pain as another an inappropriate response. Silence, more than anything, conveys that someone simply does not care. It may not be the intention, but that’s the message we receive.

      This grief is such a heavy burden and I cannot imagine bearing it alone. I have a great support system, but I’ve also found help in an online stillbirth support group. If you’d like more info on it, please email me (bekah.hart@gmail.com). Also, if you need to vent, cry or just talk, I have Skype and a U.S.-based phone number. No one should go through this feeling like they’re alone.

      Much love and many prayers, Bekah

  7. Deb Leamon says:

    Bekah and Blake, please forgive if I have ever said anything that was not thought through. You know that my heart broke for you over and over. I love you and continue to think of you and pray for you. May you continue to be engulfed with our Father’s comfort, peace and love. May you sense our love, concern, and support over the many miles that spread between us. Deb and Gary

  8. Yep. I’ve got a friend who’s struggled with miscarriages. She is inconsolable. And I’m glad I said what I said to her which was along the lines of what you suggested. This is something that the modern world doesn’t understand especially with the monstrous machinery of abortion. Women’s emotional health is being neglected in this field. She has a blog too. http://summat2thinkon.blogspot.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

