We’ve got tickets!

This past week I started to think about how I would get home for my sister’s wedding. Her wedding is in March and it’s already December—time to book tickets. My head started to hurt as we crunched the numbers, trying to figure out how we’d get me home. Then Blake’s heart started to hurt as he thought about me going home to be at her wedding, see our families, and love on our dog without him. When I saw the look in his eyes, I knew I had to do something to get us both home, but I wasn’t sure what.

I prayed, thought, re-crunched and prayed some more. We were both pretty down. Then and idea came to me. We have some Delta SkyMiles, but not enough for a whole ticket. If we could get someone to donate enough miles to buy one ticket, surely we could figure out a way to get the other. Blake started to look at alternatives to flying to Santiago and discovered that it’s half the price to fly out of Peru. We were encouraged.

I sent an email to Chris, a co-worker and dear friend at CBF to see if he would ask around the office to see if anyone was feeling exceptionally generous this Christmas season. We already had about half of the miles we needed for a ticket, so I was hopeful he’d be able to find a person or group willing to chip in to get us the rest of the way. I sent the email on Thursday.

Friday morning I had a message to call him. When I called, he told me he’d just pay for the whole ticket with his miles instead of messing around with transferring miles. I cried right there in the phone booth. With that one ticket paid for, surely we could find the money for the other one. We both called home to give the happy news and ask about plane ticket money instead of Christmas money.

Friday afternoon we were both feeling good about where we stood. Saturday I had another message to call Chris. When I did, he told me that he was using his miles to buy BOTH tickets. I was flabbergasted. Most people save their miles for vacation or for an emergency, but he bought our tickets without thinking twice. We are both so grateful that we can be home to share in this family event. God’s provision never ceases to amaze me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We’ve got tickets!

  1. C.J. Wehmiller says:

    Wow! We are so happy for ya’ll – Chris, is always so willing to be used by his God to bless others.

  2. Eleanor Grant "Nannie" says:

    So happy and reassured that prayers are answered. God is so good to send us friends (angels unaware) dwhen His children need them. May God continue to bless you both as we celebrate the earthly birthday of His Son Jesus. You are surely where God needs you to share His Love and His amazing Grace. Love and continuing prayers.

  3. Sherri Phengchard says:

    Woohoo! God is so faithful! I love how you simply asked, and how He provided!

Leave a Reply

