Thoughts from our family: part 4

This week’s post comes from my sister, Karla. Karla has just recently graduated from AB Tech and has moved to Raleigh to begin studies at NC State. As you will see, Karla loves to travel, and we look forward to when she comes to visit us down south!

In all honesty, when I first heard that Blake and Bekah were going to be moving to Chile my first thought was, “Awesome, a new place to visit!”

Being an older sister, you grow up thinking that you’re going to be a role model and teach important life lessons to your younger sibling but in all reality I have found that Blake has taught me abundantly more.  Sure, we still have our differences and he’s not perfect but witnessing how he has selflessly given up his own desires to seek God’s plan is life changing for me.  It’s not normal for someone to choose the life that Blake and Bekah have chosen, it is the result of lives fully surrendered to Christ.  When they were commissioned to be missionaries a video was played where each person spoke about where they were going and what they would be doing.  In that video, Blake said that missionaries weren’t ‘super-Christians’ but that they were just normal people living to spread the gospel.  That line has stuck with me ever since and it has debunked the myth that only special Christians are missionaries.   We all are called to be missionaries, though that calling looks different and requires different sacrifices for each person.  There are probably many reasons why I am not called to Chile…but Blake and Bekah are a perfect fit.  I am incredibly proud of them and through their process of preparing to leave I have learned so much about who they truly are.  It is evident that God has His hand upon them as they prepare and fundraise.  In my own life decisions I pray constantly for open doors and I can see how God has open doors for them every step of the way.

Chile will be a longer trip than Atlanta is and the selfish part of me wants them to stay but knowing that their presence and influence there will affect generations to come greatly outweighs any desire that I have for them to stay.  God has a purpose and a plan for them and I can’t wait to see that come to fruition as they begin their work.

I love you both!!

~Karla

About Blake Hart

My goal in life is to follow Jesus as faithfully as possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

