Thoughts from our family Part 1

It seems that whenever Blake and I talk with someone or a group of someones about our ministry and calling to serve in Chile, we’re asked the same question. The problem with the question is that we can’t really answer it. We can give what we think or hope is the answer, but not the true answer itself. And, truth be told, there isn’t a singular answer.

“How does your family feel about you moving to Chile?”

In an effort to help us and you, our readers, understand how our family feels about our upcoming move, I’ve asked different family members to write blogs on this very topic. I’ve asked them to be as open an honest as they’re comfortable being, and other than that I’ve given no other guidelines. I hope to post one response a week until we leave.

My dad responded the quickest, so he gets this week…

As a dad you want your children to grow up and be the following:

  1. God honoring
  2. Follow God at all times
  3. Great parents
  4. Good Citizens
  5. Follow dreams

You raise your children and before you know it they leave home and begin a life of their own.  They make choices– some good and some not so good.  Love is unconditional and you love them no matter what and you continue to pray for them. All you can ever ask for is that your children “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. Acknowledge Him in all your ways and he will make your paths straight.”

I am excited that my daughter and son-in-law are following the lead of the Lord.  As her dad, I do have reservations about them going so far away.  I know that we will not see each other for long periods of time and that hurts. I worry about their safety in a foreign land and then I realize that God has called them to Chile.  I go back to trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on my own understanding.

I trust God and my comfort is in His provisions and protection. If they were not called to Chile, God would have shut this door. They go with my blessing and I am so proud of them for stepping out on faith.  I love both of them and pray for them.

God Speed

Love,

Dad

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts from our family Part 1

  1. Sharon says:

    That’s a great response, Jim.

  2. Sherri Phengchard says:

    Love hearing what your dad said! What sweet, encouraging words!

Leave a Reply

