We’re out of our apartment!

That’s right! We turned the keys in at lunch today and breathed a joint sigh of relief. I have to admit that it’s a little bittersweet to leave Park Pointe North. It was, after all, the first (and second) place we lived together after we got married. It’s where we got our first dog. It’s where I used to hide in the closet during the early weeks and months of our marriage when we’d argue about something stupid. Hey, in a one-bedroom apartment, there aren’t many options for pouting or being mad—well besides actually talking about the disagreement, and who does that when they’re first married? You’ll be happy to know that I never had to use the closet in this last apartment, where we’ve lived for the last year.

We are very pleased with the mission house at Second Ponce de Leon Baptist Church (SPDL, for short) and are very grateful to them for letting us leave there until we leave. Not that I plan to use it, but that closet off the master bedroom is the perfect place for a hideout. : )

Speaking of hideouts, we were especially grateful to have a basement last night. Those storms were intense! We got a little nervous a couple of times, but didn’t need to spend a significant part of our evening in the basement. We did, however, try to sleep on the couch on the main level until most had passed. Finally, at 1:30am, I could take Blake’s feet in my back no longer and we headed upstairs to bed. I hope that’s it for spring storms– goodness knows it caused enough damaged to make up several years of storms.

Today we’re thinking about and praying for our friends at FBC Williams, Alabama. We’re glad to know you all are safe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We’re out of our apartment!

  1. Jaimie says:

    I tear up every time a read one of your blogs! Me, who doesn’t ever cry! I am so proud of you and Blake and the wonderful, dedicated, unselfish people that you are. I am very proud to say that I am your big sister! David and I were talking the other night about how steadfast and dedicated you are to your calling to work with the peolpe in Chile. We are definitely going to visit you guys over there. You are setting a great example to those that will come after you. It’s like that old Steve Green song about leaving something (a legacy) for those that come behind! We all love you guys so much!!!

  2. Sherri Phengchard says:

    Aww! I loved Jaimie’s comment and totally second that! So proud of you guys! And I’m glad you haven’t had to use the closet the past year! But hopefully you will have a nice roomy closet in Chile to escape to when things get rough 😉

  3. Bekah Hart says:

    Your comments made me cry, so I guess we’re even. Thank you for your meaningful words. Frederick Buecner said “The place God calls you to is the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.” Many people find that place close to where they are; ours happens to be 4,000 miles away. It’s a long way, but I honestly can’t imagine us preparing for anything else. Am I terrified, at times? Yes, but I’m also at peace, knowing we’re doing the right thing. It’s definitely an odd mixture of feelings… : )

Leave a Reply

